Inconsistency, thy name is Diabetes.

I realized two things while beginning this post:

1. Holy craps it’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything.See what I did there?

2. I still have not finished my two-parter I started so many months ago.

We’re (and by we I mean me) going to work on that.

But I wanted to address something!

Diabetes, type 1 or type 2, sucks. It’s not fun, it’s not cool, and it rarely gets you as much sympathy as something like–well insert your own disease that is typically considered “serious” so I don’t offend anyone. Let’s just say I said lupus.

Now all of us know that diabetes is a serious disease so we can scoot past that discussion, but it’s also an extremely discouraging one.

For TTD’s you’re faced with stupid stuff like this on a daily basis:

This was the tray insert at McDonalds in Beaver Dam, Wisconsin. Really McDonalds? That piece of paper says, “Eat well!” It should say, “Eat well and P.S., BTW, don’t eat here!”

(And yes, half of that is my food…)

For certain TODs, part of your pancreas still functions or at least secretes insulin occasionally. Same with TTDs. Your pancreas still works, your body is just resistant to the insulin your body puts out. This means that some days, or some weeks, or some months your body may secrete and be very receptive to the insulin it’s producing. THIS means that having consistent blood sugars goes out the window. And you can’t prepare for it.

As much as I hate to say this, the only way to really understand when this is happening to you is to check your blood sugars. Without that data, you really can’t know what you’re dealing with.

I like to write EVERYTHING down so that I know my blood sugar is high/low because I missed some insulin or I ate something that spiked my sugars or I exercised some time the week before… the only downside to writing everything down is that it is really easy to get sick of doing it and just quit.

Someone I love very much was recently given the gift of TTD. He has literally busted his butt and completely changed his WHOLE life to adapt. He even eats vegetables now. He lost a ton of weight and walks miles and miles a day.

Honestly, this man now eats fruit and vegetables, drinks soy milk, exercises twice a day, and is just in general an exemplary diabetic.

His sugars are almost always low 100’s.

But he went to his doctor the other day and had an A1C done (which was UNDER the limit for diabetes) and sent me an email that sounded a little bit discouraged because his A1C was not as low as he was expecting.

It breaks my heart that someone who is and has worked SO hard could still feel like they weren’t doing enough.

But that’s what diabetes is. It is a constant struggle, adaption and feeling inadequate.

So here’s what we’re going to do. We are going to give the proverbial middle finger (or whatever expression of disdain your culture has) to diabetes and it’s inconsistency.

No, it won’t change anything but I am of the opinion that it is healthy to express a little anger and it is OK to be mad about diabetes, it is the WORST.

Next, we are going to pat ourselves on the diabetes.

Good job us. Good job diabetes.

Now let’s move on. Try to remember that yeah, diabetes is a pain in the tukhus but we are doing our best so we deserve to feel good about ourselves.

2 Comments

Filed under How to: get diabetes.

2 responses to “Inconsistency, thy name is Diabetes.

  1. mandolinfisch

    I LOVE this. Good article!!!

  2. Pingback: I’ll never let go, Jack… | diabetiquette

Leave a Reply

